IRCTC PNR Status Check for General and Tatkal

Indian Railways Passengers reservation enquiry gives you the status of Indian railways train tickets. PNR passenger Name record is given to passengers who have reserved their train tickets. PNR is an 10 unique digit number given to reservation passengers to check their booked ticket status for General or Tatkal. This PNR number will be generated by the Computer Reservation System were the details of passengers or group of passengers data ill be saved. This database of PNR includes the information of Passengers current reservation status which gets updated continuously if some reserved tickets were cancelled.

PNR number will be printed on the top left corner of Printed ticket (Tickets which will be taken from Railway ticket booking window) If you have booked the ticket though online IRCTC website then the PNR number will be printed at top separate cell of Ticket.

How to IRCTC PNR Status Check Online

Those passengers having reservation tickets can check their PNR status from Indian Railways Passenger Reservation Enquiry by following the below given procedure. So follow below steps to check the status in different methods.

  • Open the Indian Railway official website of
  • Select PNR Status Option
  • Enter your PNR Number witch is the printed on ticket
  • Enter the Chaptha Code
  • Click on Get Status Option

Now you have seen your status with passengers list of the ticket with their allotted couch and seat numbers of complete status.

Through Phone Call:
You need to Dial 139 which connect to the operator then ask for your PNR Status to IRCTC Operator with Saying the PNR number printed on ticket and you status will be said by operator.

Thorough SMS:
You can also know the ticket status through message, By sending the SMS to 54959, 5676747 and 57886 from any mobile network. Below are methods to send SMS to this above given numbers.

  • PNR <10-digit PNR number> to 5676747
  • PNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 54959
  • PNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 139
  • IRPNR <10-digit PNR Number> to 57886

Through Online websites
There are two official website through which PNR status can be known
They are  Train PNR Status and Indian Railways

Indian Railways Abbreviation:

  1. SL – Sleeper Class
  2. 3A – AC 3 Tier
  3. 3E – AC 3 Tier Economy
  4. 2S – Second Sitting
  5. FC – First class
  6. 2A – AC 2-tier sleeper
  7. 1A – First class AC
  8. GN – General Quota
  9. DF – Defence Quota
  10. CK – Tatkal Quota
  11. CKW – Tatkal Quota waiting list
  12. WL – Waiting List
  13. RAC – Reservation Against Cancellation
  14. SS – Travelling Alone Female Quota (above 45 Year) / Senior Citizen Quota
  15. LD – Ladies Quota
  16. HP – Physically Handicapped Quota

Instructions for IRCTC PNR Status Check:
Make sure you keep your ticket safe with you without getting damage. Without PNR number it is difficult to check the status of your respective ticket. You can follow three method to know your status and confirm the ticket. Status will be changed daily so it is compulsory to check the status of your respective ticket.

Post Comment